A broadcaster can invite their viewers to join their live broadcasts as guests. Up to three guests can join at a time, and be heard by everyone. Going live together creates new opportunities for broadcasters to engage with their audience while controlling their broadcasting experience.
To go live together, both the broadcaster and their guests must opt in (and either party can stop at any time). First, broadcasters need to select the icon on the pre-broadcast screen before going live. Viewers can then ask to join, and the broadcaster can choose to accept their requests and add them as guests. The broadcaster and viewers can tap on any guest’s avatar to make it appear biggest on their screen.
When a broadcaster chooses to add a guest, both the broadcaster and their guest see a countdown. During the countdown, the broadcaster can preview their guest's audio, before it can be heard by everyone else in the broadcast. Both the broadcaster and their guest can choose to cancel at any time.
You can go live together on iOS or Android, and watch from iOS, Android, or web. (Sharing to Twitter is not available yet, but stay tuned for updates).
How does a broadcaster add guests?
Before going live, a broadcaster must tap the icon on the pre-broadcast screen to be able to invite guests during their broadcast.
To invite viewers:
- Tap the icon
- Tap “Invite Guests”
To add guests during a broadcast:
- Tap the icon
- Tap the + next to the viewers you’d like to add as guests
Once guests join, their avatars will appear on screen and they will be heard by everyone. The broadcaster can remove them at any time by tapping the X on their avatar.
After removing a guest, a broadcaster can view their profile, mute, or block them by tapping the X next to the removal confirmation and selecting one of these options.
If at any time a broadcaster decides they no longer want to allow guests in their broadcast, they can tap the icon, select “Guest List”, and tap “Don’t Allow Guests.”
Note: If a guest violates the Community Guidelines, we may have to remove the entire broadcast. In some cases, account penalties may be applied to the broadcaster.
How does a viewer ask to join as a guest?
To ask to join as a guest:
- Tap the icon
- Tap “Ask to Join”
Note: A viewer can also ask to join as a guest directly from the chat message that appears when a broadcaster requests invites.
After a viewer has asked to join, the broadcaster must choose to add them. Viewers will be notified if the broadcaster chooses to add them. Then, their avatars will appear on screen and they will be heard by everyone. Because guests are joining someone else’s broadcast, people they have blocked may see that they’ve joined and hear them. A guest can stop at any time by tapping “cancel” or “hang up.”
The first time a viewer requests to join, they will be prompted to confirm their request before it’s submitted to the broadcaster.
Note: When a viewer joins a broadcast as a guest, their audio will remain part of the broadcast even if they choose to deactivate their account.